Our Faculty

John Potter

John Potter

Founder
Headmaster Emeritus
B.S.C. Honors Biochemistry, University of Nottingham, UK
M.S. Biochemistry, University of Maryland
jpotter@newschoolva.org

Steve Roushakes

Head of School
B.A. History, The College of William and Mary
M.A. Social Sciences, University of Chicago
sroushakes@newschoolva.org
Joan Goodman

Joan Goodman

School Administrator
B.A. Sociology (Education Minor), Southern Connecticut State College
Master of Public Health (M.P.H.), Yale University
jgoodman@newschoolva.org

Noelle Andreano

Director of Development and Community Engagement
B.S. Sociology, George Mason University
MPA, Nonprofit Management, Long Island University
nandreano@newschoolva.org

Valoria Boone

Senior Office Manager
vboone@newschoolva.org

Sujatha Nukala

Comptroller
snukala@newschoolva.org
Jenny Fey

Jenny Fey

Humanities Teacher and Academic Dean
B.A. English and Linguistics, University of Mary Washington
M.A. Education in Secondary English, GMU
M.A. Linguistics, GMU
jfey@newschoolva.org

Rachel Lewis

Chemistry and Math Teacher
Travel Coordinator
Athletic Director
B.S. Chemistry, Virginia Tech
rlewis@newschoolva.org

Shannan Danish

Math, Computers, and Social Studies Teacher
Community Coordinator
B.A. Sociology, James Madison University
MA Candidate, Special Education, George Mason University
sdanish@newschoolva.org

Nataliya Gurshman

Art Teacher
B.F.A Art Institute of Boston
M.F.A. The St.Petersburg Academy of Fine Arts
ngurshman@newschoolva.org
taryn hermansen

Taryn Hermansen

English and Humanities Teacher
Internet PR Coordinator
B.A. Psychology and Literary Arts, Brown University
thermansen@newschoolva.org
Alan Villereal

Alan Villarreal

Humanities Teacher
Middle School Coordinator
B.A. Liberal Arts, St. John’s College
M.A. International Policy Studies, Monterey Institute of International Studies
avillarreal@newschoolva.org

Carolina McLean

Humanities and ESOL Teacher
Curriculum Support Coordinator
B.A. Social Science Education, Florida State University
M.S. Social Science Education, Florida State University
cmclean@newschoolva.org

Eden Costagliola

Math and Dance Teacher
B.A. Math, Vassar College
7-12 Math Teaching Certification, NY
M.A. Pure Mathematics, George Washington University
ecostagliola@newschoolva.org

Jonathan Rushbrook

Arts and Humanities Teacher
Theatre Director
B.A. Drama and Film Studies, Anglian Ruskin University, UK
M.A. Production Design, George Washington University
jrushbrook@newschoolva.org

Kara Jonach

Middle School and German Teacher
B.S. Conflict Analysis and Resolution, George Mason University
M.S. Anthropology, George Mason University
kjonach@newschoolva.org

Henry Edwards

Humanities Teacher
Wellness Coordinator
M.A.P.P. Applied Positive Psychology, University of Pennsylvania
B.A. International Relations, George Washington University
hedwards@newschoolva.org

Clara Saa

Spanish Teacher
Psychology Advanced Degree, Universidad Javeriana, Colombia
csaa@newschoolva.org

Savi Ravichandran

Math and Science Teacher
B.S. (Math, Physics, Chemistry), Osmania University, India
B.Ed. (Honors: Math, Physics, Chemistry), Osmania University, India
sravichandran@newschoolva.org

Gabbi Chwae

Middle School Math and Humanities Teacher
B.A. International Studies, Russian Studies, and Mathematics, Vassar College
gchwae@newschoolva.org

Diana Gibson

Science Teacher
B.S. Environmental Geology; minor Hispanic Studies, The College of William and Mary
M. Ed. Curriculum and Instruction, Environmental Education, Concordia University of Portland
dgibson@newschoolva.org

Maddy Boyle

Study Skills and PE Teacher
B.S. General Science and Secondary Education, University of Oregon
mboyle@newschoolva.org

Austin Bartenstein

B.A. English, University of Mary Washington
abartenstein@newschoolva.org

Chethan Kenkeremath

Humanities and Study Skills Teacher
B.A. Government and International Politics, George Mason University
M.A. Political Science, George Mason University
ckenkeremath@newschoolva.org

Billy Pasour

STEAM and Humanities Teacher
Senior Program Coordinator
Student Support Coordinator
B.A. Music Composition, Marlboro College
wpasour@newschoolva.org

Claudia Rohaly

American Sign Language Teacher
B.A. Psychology and Physical Education, Gallaudet University
crohaly@newschoolva.org

Janis Trizna

International Student Liaison
Technology Director
B.S. Math, St. Mary’s College of Maryland
jtrizna@newschoolva.org

Valerie Agosta-Ives

French Teacher
M.A. English, Universitié de Poitiers (France)
Ph. D French Literature, Washington University - St Louis
vagostaives@newschoolva.org

We love visitors and welcome the opportunity to discuss in depth our one-of-a-kind program.

Scroll to Top